"Achieving Healthier Communities by Mentoring, Educating
and Strengthening At-risk Youth, Individuals & Families"
P. O. Box 91328
Houston, TX 77291
Senate Bill 55 with the 1997 Texas Legislative Session states that it is illegal for minors to buy, consume, or possess tobacco products. It furtherstates that it allows law enforcement officers to write citations to minors.
Positive Perspective Mentors & Educational Services offers a DSHS curriculum approved for minors who are mandated to take TYTAP classes as part of their consequences set by a Judge or other applicable authority.
If the youth meet all of the requirements of the classes, they will be given a certificate of completion to verify their compliance to the mandate given.
FEQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
For other questions, call 832-689-4594.
What information is provided to youth in the class?
Youth are informed of the law regarding under-aged tobacco possession and use. Youth learn about the effects of tobacco use—cigarettes, smokeless tobacco, and snuff—and how it impacts your health. Youth receive information that can help them stop tobacco use.
Can I just show up without registering?
No, you must pre-register either online or by phone prior to attending the workshop.
How are payments accepted?
You may either click the PAY NOW button on the TOBACCO PREVENTION & CESSATION tab to receive the discounted $70.00 payment online with your credit or debit card, or pay the $80.00 pre-registration cost in person or by mail prior to the first day of the workshop. Workshop payments made on site the day of the workshop will be $90.00 in cash only.
How can I get a refund?
There are absolutely NO refunds. If your child misses a workshop, it is his/her responsibility to contact us to schedule another date for attendance. No exceptions will be made.
What if my child is a behavior problem?
All participants will be expected to follow the rules. Refusal to cooperate or participate in workshop activities will not be tolerated. If an individual is asked to leave, it will result in loss of payment. Furthermore, it will remain his/her responsibility to reschedule another workshop at a later date. The court that referred your child will also be notified of the incident.
Can my child arrive late or leave early?
No, participants will not be permitted to arrive late or leave early. In the event that an emergency occurs, your child will be dismissed without credit and may reschedule another date to complete the workshop.
Where is the workshop located?
3422-A Holman St.
Houston, Texas 77004
APRIL 2013 CLASS SCHEDULE
Monday & Wednesday:
April 29th, May 1st, 6th & 8th
Evenings: 5:00pm - 7:00pm
Tuesday & Thursday:
April 30th, May2nd, 7th & 9th
Evenings: 5:00pm - 7:00pm
To Pay, go to the Tobacco Prevention & Cessation page.